Well, I’ll Be A Dog’s (not a monkey’s) Uncle!

My sweet puppy dog will be leaving me soon. Next Friday, he will officially begin his training to become a service dog and save the life of a veteran. I have been reflecting on this experience. One of my favorite parts has been watching my foster dog bond with my coworkers.

20160526_155901

Slider and Uncle Greg

Slider has been the unofficial “house” dog in the admin office of K9s. When Slider is absent from a day of work, he is missed. What is even better is that when I felt like I couldn’t succeed as a foster mom, my coworkers believed in me. That means a lot.

I believe that animals, especially dogs, bring out the best in humanity. They are innocent, sweet, and have authentic hearts, which is why they can alleviate the symptoms of PTSD. I think my coworkers would agree, and it goes without saying that they have enjoyed bonding with Slider.

ranger

Slider and Uncle Ranger


list2


20160730_143900

Slider with Uncle Bryan and Cousin Dell

“I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me, they are the role model for being alive.”
—Gilda Radner

Leave a Reply

