Faux Paw (Pas): Chewing Shoes

20160607_080033

Yup – that is the face he makes when he gets in trouble!

Having Slider in my home has made me very happy. He has a wonderful personality, and for the most part behaves well. Slider is eager to learn and please but still enjoys a bit of puppy mischief. I have to say… it keeps things interesting.

Yesterday, there was a casualty in my home as a result of a faux paw (pas) made on Slider’s part: teething puppy could not locate a toy, so he ventured into my closet for a shoe. I heard him chomping away, and realized that he was very happily devouring a pink, satin high heel.

I removed the shoe from his grasp and redirected him, giving him a Kong ball instead. Then, I sadly threw out the heels – as nothing could be done to save them. What is funny to me is that I was not upset with him. I loved those shoes but love him more. Situations like this are just a part of puppy-raising, and I am willing to embrace it all – the good, the bad, and the “chewy!”

Taking care of him is hard work. I have to make sacrifices in order to provide him with what he needs. It is worth it to me though. He is going to be an awesome service dog, and I am proud that I get to help with his development.

shoes

Surrendered Then Saved

Slider, a seven-month-old labrador retriever, is one of the newest puppy recruits, training to become a service dog at K9s For Warriors. Slider came to the 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization as a surrendered canine, which essentially means the family he once knew no longer wanted to care for him. Being ignored is difficult… being neglected is painful… but being thrown away by the people who are supposed to love you… UNIMAGINABLE! I cannot fathom how someone – human being or animal – could ever recover from that! I believe that Slider has though.


20160531_070616

My name is Samantha, and I am the lucky girl raising Slider. When I first met him, I was very surprised by his demeanor. It seemed he should have been anxious and confused when he was brought to Camp K9, but he was not AT ALL! Instead, it was almost like he had come to terms with the fact that his former family didn’t want him, and he was ready to push forward… accepting the mission of becoming a service dog. He was really cheerful and silly, the type of dog that I prefer. He passed his evaluation with the K9s Intake Coordinator, and we were sent on our merry way together.

I took him to Walmart with me before going home to my Jacksonville, FL, apartment. Because he is training to become a service dog, he can go in any public place with me that I choose. I slipped his red training vest on, and took him inside the store. At first, he was afraid to step onto the glossy, reflective floor. But with encouragement and affection, he quickly overcame his fear. Walking around with him felt right. He was very well-behaved in public, and wore his vest with pride. I have no doubt that he will be a wonderful PTSD service dog. His story started out dismally but will end happily. Slider will live with me until he is old enough to move into the kennel at K9s For Warriors. At that point, he will begin his formal service dog training.


slider-collage

Slider and I (Samantha)


Every Dog Has its Day

Slider’s will be the day he graduates from K9s For Warriors.

He was surrendered but saved, and now he is focusing

on training to save the life of a veteran.


slider and uncle ranger

Slider and K9s Warrior Trainer Ranger